9 Colours of Navratri And Their Significance In Our Culture

The Dandiya Raas has begun...!

Aaliya Sheikh

Mar 2, 2021|4 min read


Navaratri, a Hindu festival that lasts for nine nights and is celebrated every year in the autumn. Navratri celebrations include worshipping of nine goddesses in nine days, stage decorations, reciting of the legend, performing of the story, and chanting of the scriptures of Hinduism. Devotees often celebrate Navratri by fasting.

9 colours of navratri
9 Colours of Navratri

The statues of the goddess are either immersed in a water body such as river and ocean on the final day, Vijayadashami or Dussehra. The festival also starts the preparation for one of the most important and widely celebrated holidays, Diwali, the festival of lights, celebrated twenty days after the Vijayadashami or Dussehra.

The word Navratri is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘Nava’ which means nine and ‘Ratri’ means night. Each day is dedicated to one of the nine incarnations of the goddess Durga namely Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri.

Every day has a colour significance associated with it, which are commonly known as the 9 colours of Navratri. There are different colours associated with each of the nine days. People get dressed in the colour specific to each day to make the most of Navratri.

Here's the list of 9 colours of Navratri for each day with their significance and other details for your advance preparations.


The festival begins with a vivid and bright colour orange which signifies energy and happiness. Shailputri the first avatar of Durga is worshipped on the first day of Navratri. The Devi is the symbol of brightness. She is considered the provider of light and energy to the entire world.


Begin your second day with the colour white which is a sign of peace and purity. On this day Hindus worship the goddess Brhamcharini. As the name suggests, Brhamcharini signifies celibacy and purity. Hence the colour white is also the symbol of purity, peace and meditation.


People wear the colour red on the third day of Navratri. Red colour signifies beauty and fearlessness. On this day Hindus worship the goddess Chandraghanta. It is believed that goddess Chandraghanta is formed out of the anger of God. Thus the colour red is associated with her.


The colour Royal Blue is a sign of divine energy, superiority and intelligence. On the fifth day or Panchami, the devotees worship goddess Skandamata. Goddess Skandamata represents power, treasures, prosperity, wisdom and salvation. The colour also considered good for health and wealth.


People wear the colour yellow on the fifth day of Navratri. Yellow is the colour of the goddess Shailputri. Shailputri is the form of mother nature, which symbolises strength, joy and happiness. Thus the colour yellow associates with brightness and happiness.


The colour green refers to the various aspects of Mother Nature and its nourishing qualities. On this day Goddess Kalaratri is worshipped and the colour of the day is green. The colour is the symbol of growth, positivity and new beginnings, On this day, devotees of Maa Durga thank mother Earth for bare necessities like nature. It is believed that the colour green brings good luck and positivity.


Grey is the colour of the seventh day, which stands for the strength of transforming. Hindus worship Goddess Kalaratri on this day. Goddess Kalaratri wears a grey-coloured half-moon on her forehead. The colour of Grey symbolizes the transforming strength. The colour also symbolizes her mood, ever ready to fight to destroy the enemy of her devotees.


The colour purple represents ambition, goal and energy. The colour also signifies the power of intellect and peace. People worship Goddess Mahagauri on this day. This day is called Asthami and is the second last day of the Navratri festival, many people perform Kanjaks on this day. Purple, the colour of the day, signifies the power of intellect and peace. People worship Goddess Mahagauri on this day.


Navami or the last day of Navratri goddess Siddhidhatri is worshipped and the colour Peacock Green is associated with this day. It is believed that people wear colour outfits to fulfil their desires and wishes.

Navratri Festival

This brings us to the end of our list of 9 colours of Navratri. In Navratri, each day is associated with an incarnation of the goddess. Every day is dedicated to nine different colours and each of them has a history and significance, which represents different faith and values of people.

The 9 colours of Navratri also spread joy and cheer among the people celebrating the festival. From wearing clothes of a particular colour to decorations, everything just looks awesome during the festival of Navratri. What are you waiting for? Get started with the preparations!

Read More:

Explore: Feeding Trends | Events


Aaliya Sheikh

I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.



Read More