How To Delete Your Google Account After You Die

Delete Your Google Account

Shubham Saxena

18 days ago|4 min read

37

 

If you use any of the Google services, you likely have quite a bit of data tied to your Google account in the event of your untimely passing, you need to Delete Your Google Account. Google has a tool called the Inactive Account Manager which will delete your Google account if you’ve been inactive for a certain period. You can also choose who gets notified in case of Deleting Your Google Account, your inactive status and which of your trusted Contacts get access to your account data after you stop using your account.

Let’s see how to Delete Your Google Account right - in first I’ll show you the steps to delete your account and share your data, which can be done on any web browser if you own an Android phone or tablet, I’ll show you the steps for Android later on. In your browser after you’ve logged Into your Google Account and want to Delete Your Google Account select your profile picture in the upper right. Then click on Google account next in the middle of the page, select personal info and privacy now scroll down the page and find inactive account manager.

It’s near the bottom select change. In this setting, you should be at the screen where it says, make a plan for your Google account if you pass away or stop using Google to begin the process to auto-delete, your Google account click on start. This first step is very important for deleting Your Google Account.

You need to choose the length of time that Google should wait to consider your account inactive. You can set this to 3 months, all the way up to 18 months. I’ll just leave this one at 3 months and hit save.

You will be contacted one month before the time is up. If you don’t respond within the month, your account will be terminated if it’s not already listed, you’ll need to add a phone number, an email address, and a recovery email. These will be the methods that Google uses to contact you before deleting your account when you’re done with this page click on next on this screen, you can choose up to 10 people that will be notified when your Google account is considered inactive.

Select add person, enter their email address, I’ll use a fake one. Click Next, you can choose the data you would like to share with this person. This is optional and they will have three months after your account is inactive to download your data.

You can select all, select none, or select each of these individually. I don’t want to share much with this person. So I’ll just select, Google photos, and click next on the screen, you can add their phone number to help verify their identity before they download your data.

You also have the option to select the box next to add a personal message and they’ll get a message from you when they’re notified of your inactivity, when done click on save, you can set an auto-reply for anyone that tries to contact you after your account Has become inactive, this is optional. Click set auto-reply. You can put anything here that you want for the subject, I’ll just type I’m dead and for the message, I’ll keep it simple.

“I no longer have access to email”. You also have the choice to only send a response to those people in your contacts by selecting the box when done click Save, that’s it for this page click on next. If you’re, absolutely positive that you would like your Google account to automatically delete after it becomes Inactive, toggle the slider to turn it on when your account becomes inactive. This will delete it along with all its data, including content on other Google-owned sites, including YouTube, Adsense, Google+, and many others.

If you’ve added people earlier to share your data web, they will have three months to download your content and select a review plan. After reviewing your summary to make it permanent, you will need to click on confirm the plan, and that’s all there is to it.

If you use an Android phone or tablet, you can get to the inactive Account Manager by going to set, depending on your version of Android, the following steps.

Mayberry finds Google in the list tap on it near the top select info security and personalization, also near the top to the right of personal info, select data and personalization scroll down, and find make a plan for your account. Its way down there, tap on it from. The steps are the same as what I showed you earlier using your web browser.

So this is how you Delete Your Google Account, if you know any other way of deleting your Google account mention it in our comments.

37

Shubham Saxena

Hi I am Shubham Saxena, guys who spend 24 hours on internet, coding. researching and finding useful tools. Follow my blog at Feeding Trends to know about tech tools.

Comments

more

Read More