10 Fastest 100 In IPL History [2008 - 2021]

Anything Is Possible In Love, War & IPL!

Tushar Sahu

2 months ago|6 min read


Indian Premier League (IPL) season 2022 is about to begin, and the craze of the fans for this season of IPL is at its peak. Although cricket fans are always fascinated whenever the IPL comes, this season will be even more fascinating. The reason for the extra excitement of cricket fans for IPL 2022 is because of the arrival of two new teams, Lucknow and Ahmedabad.


Earlier, the fans used to believe that players can hit centuries in the ODI and Test formats only. Along with that, they had the conception that smashing centuries in the T20 format of cricket, where a team is supposed to play only 120 balls in their inning, the batsman can't punch centuries in this quick span.

But the T20 format, especially the IPL has made an impact on the perspective of batsmen these days. Nowadays, scoring centuries in this short format of 20 over has become a new normal for the players. 

In every edition of the IPL, we get to witness some of the quick centuries by the players. Thus, we are with the list of 10 Fastest 100 in IPL History, which will list the balls played by the players in descending order. 

This list of 10 Fastest 100 in IPL is going to be super amazing to read. Thus, stick with this list till its conclusion. Following is the list of Fastest 100 in IPL in the descending order of balls faced by the players.


1) CHRIS GAYLE (46 balls) vs KXIP

CHRIS GAYLE (46 balls) vs KXIP

When it comes to Fastest 100 in IPL, the name of Chris Gayle comes foremost. His records in the T20 format are next to indestructible. On 6th May 2015, Gayle completed his century in 46 balls. In his innings against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), he smashed 12 sixes and 7 boundaries. This match took place in the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium of Bengaluru. 


2) MURALI VIJAY (46 balls) vs RR

MURALI VIJAY (46 balls) vs RR

Similar to Chris Gayle, Murli Vijay has also completed his century in just 46 balls against the mighty Rajasthan Royals (RR) on 3rd April 2010. The match between CSK and RR was played in the Chidambaram Stadium of Chennai. In the inning, he slashed a total of 127 runs with the help of 11 sixes and 8 boundaries. 


3) MAYANK AGARWAL (45 balls) vs RR

MAYANK AGARWAL (45 balls) vs RR

In this list of Fastest 100 in IPL, after Murali Vijay, Mayank Agarwal too has made a ton against Rajasthan Royals (RR) and topped his 100 in 45 deliveries. On 27th September 2020, in the Sharjahan Stadium, Mayank hit this century, and his innings consisted of 10 sixes and 7 fours. 


4) SANATH JAYASURIYA (45 balls) vs CSK


Srilankan legend Sanath Jayasuriya too punched one of the Fastest 100 in IPL against CSK in the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai in the inaugural season of IPL. On 14th May 2008, he completed his century in 45 balls which includes 11 sixes and 9 fours. 


5) DAVID WARNER (43 balls) vs KKR

DAVID WARNER (43 balls) vs KKR

On 30th April 2017, the Australian Opener David Warner achieved his century in 43 balls and scored 126 runs in that game. His innings consisted of 8 sixes and 10 boundaries. He scored this ton against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium. 


6) AB DE VILLIERS (43 balls) vs GL

AB DE VILLIERS (43 balls) vs GL

The list of Fastest 100 in IPL is undone without Mr. 360 of IPL, i.e., AB de Villiers. During the match against Gujarat Lions (GL) on 14th May 2016, in the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, ABD met his ton in the 43 deliveries, with 12 sixes and 10 boundaries. In that innings, he smashed a total of 129 runs.


7) ADAM GILCHRIST (42 balls) vs MI

ADAM GILCHRIST (42 balls) vs MI

Like Sanath Jayasuriya, the century of Adam Gilchrist is also present in the Fastest 100 in IPL, which came in the inaugural IPL 2008 season. The Australian legend Adam Gilchrist smashed the century in 42 balls playing against Mumbai Indians (2008) in the DY Patil Stadium on 27th April 2008. He smashed 10 sixes and 9 fours in his innings. 


8) DAVID MILLER (38 balls) vs RCB

DAVID MILLER (38 balls) vs RCB

Playing against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), David Miller smashed his century in less than 40 balls. In the 37 deliveries, he met his century with 7 sixes and 8 boundaries. This match was played on 6th May 2013 in the IS Bindra Stadium. 


9) YUSUF PATHAN (37 balls) vs MI

YUSUF PATHAN (37 balls) vs MI

On 13th March 2010, in the Brabourne Stadium, Yusuf Pathan punched the second-fastest century from Fastest 100 in IPL History. Playing against Mumbai Indians (MI), he reached his century in 37 balls and smashed 8 sixes and 9 boundaries in his innings. 


10 CHRIS GAYLE (30 balls) vs PWI

CHRIS GAYLE (30 balls) vs PWI

23rd April 2013 is one of the most unforgettable days in the IPL, especially for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). That was the day when RCB and Chris Gayle had created numerous records in the IPL record. Almost every IPL and Cricket fan will already be familiar with the fact that Chris Gayle had smashed Fastest 100 in IPL history. He took just 30 balls to conclude his ton. This innings of Fastest 100 in IPL of Chris Gayle is packed with great thrill and excitement. 



In the IPL 2013 season, Chris Gayle achieved this milestone against Pune Warriors India (PWI) on 23 April in the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. In this match, Gayle took just 30 deliveries to complete his ton. In that innings, he scored 175 runs that consisted of 17 sixes and 13 fours. This innings by the Universe Boss Christopher Henry Gayle has alone busted multiple records in the IPL History. In addition, due to these marvellous innings, RCB scored the highest ever IPL total of 264 runs, which is still unbroken by any team. 


That is the list of Top 10 Fastest 100 in IPL in the descending order of the deliveries a batsman carried to score his century in the IPL match. Do you know what is one interesting fact about this top 10 list of Fastest 100 in IPL? 


It is that this list of Fastest 100 in IPL commences from the same player and ends with him as well. Chris Gayle is in the 1st and 10th positions on the list. Fans do not just enjoy watching the batting of Gayle, but they also adore his celebration and humorous behaviour on and off the field. No doubt, along with the Universe Boss in cricket, he is also a fantastic Entertainer in the match. 

IPL brings up the next level of joy for the cricket fans, where players from almost all major cricket playing participate in this mega contest and play their best game in order to conquer the title. 


If you too are a cricket fan and love watching IPL, do comment which IPL team you are supporting this season and also let us know which team according to you is the best contender for conquering the IPL 2022 Title. 



Tushar Sahu




Read More